Office of the Vice President for Research

Research Directory

Office of the Vice President for Research

Vice President for Research 
Jennifer Sharpe Potter, PhD, MPH 
Phone: 210-562-5698 
Email: potterjs@uthscsa.edu

Associate Vice President for Research Administration 
Claudia Y. Delgado, MBA 
Phone: 210-450-7675
E-mail: delgadoc3@uthscsa.edu

Associate Vice President for Research 
Kimberly Summers, PharmD 
Phone: 210-567-8249 
Email: summers@uthscsa.edu

Associate Vice President for Translational Research 
Robert A. Clark, MD, MACP 
Phone: 210-567-0866 
E-mail: clarkra@uthscsa.edu

Associate Vice President for Strategic Research Initiatives 
Mark P. Goldberg, MD 
Phone: 210-567-4418 
Email: goldbergm@uthscsa.edu

Associate Vice President for Innovation and Development
Anthony R. Francis
Phone: 210-567-0313
francisa3@uthscsa.edu 

Sr. Director, Clinical Trials Office
Jason Bates, MBA
Email: batesjr@uthscsa.edu 

Director, Clinical Research Implementation Office
Stephanie Rowan, RN, PhD
Email: rowans@uthscsa.edu 

Director, Institutional Research Core Facilities
Ramiro Ramirez-Solis, PhD
Email: ramirezsolis@uthscsa.edu

Director, Institutional Review Board
Jeannette M. Watterson, PhD
Email: watterson@uthscsa.edu

Director, Lab Animal Resources
Sander Hacker, VMD
Email: hackers@uthscsa.edu 

Director, Finance & Administration 
Carlotta Bell, MEd, MBA 
Phone: 210-567-0313 
Email: bellc1@uthscsa.edu

Director, Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
Babatunde "Kay" Oyajobi, MBBS, PhD, MBA
Email: oyajobi@uthscsa.edu

Sr. Director, Strategic Research Initiatives
Salma A. Quraishi, PhD
Email: quraishi@uthscsa.edu 

Director, Technology and Commercialization
Lindsay Sanford, PhD
Email: sanfordl3@uthscsa.edu

Director, Research Administration and Quality
Melanie Zuniga Rapp, MPA
Email: zunigam5@uthscsa.edu

Director, Research Enhancement Programs
Sunil Ahuja, MD
Email: ahujas@uthscsa.edu

Programs

Conflict of Interest & Responsible Conduct of Research Programs 
Phone: 210-562-6838
Email: coi@uthscsa.edu 

Research Enhancement Programs 
Phone: 210-567-0233

Research Protection Programs 
Phone: 210-567-8555 
Email: IRBreliance@uthscsa.edu

Offices & Departments

 
Phone: 210-450-8532 
Email: VPRCTO@uthscsa.edu

 
Phone: 210-567-8260 
Email: IACP@uthscsa.edu

Institutional Research Cores 
Phone: 210-567-2059

 
Phone: 210-567-8250 
Email: IRB@uthscsa.edu

 
Phone: 210-567-6166 
Email: LAR@uthscsa.edu

 
Phone: 210-567-8555 
Email: IRBreliance@uthscsa.edu

 
Phone: 210-450-5280 
Email: OPA@uthscsa.edu

Office of Strategic Research Initiatives 
Phone: 210-567-3720

 
Phone: 210-562-4000 
Email: OTCInfo@uthscsa.edu

VPR Application Support & IT 
Phone: 210-450-6666
Email: vpr-it@uthscsa.edu

Shared Research Resource Facilities

 
Phone: 210-562-4068

 
Phone: 210-567-6947

 
Phone: 210-567-3911

Institutional Biobank 
Phone: 210-567-2059

 
Phone: 210-567-4043

 
Phone: 210-567-3151

 -  
Phone: 210-567-8706

  -   
Phone: 210-567-3781

Organized Research Units

 
Phone: 210-450-8437 
Email: BiggsInstitute@UTHealthSA.org

 
Phone: 210-450-8271 
Email: info@uthscsa.edu

 
Phone: 210-562-6500 
Email: ihpr@uthscsa.edu

 
Phone: 210-562-4467 
Email: IIMS-CTSA@uthscsa.edu

 
Main Line & Appointments: 210-450-1000 
Clinical Trials: 210-450-5798

 
Phone: 210-562-5551

 
Phone: 210-567-8150

 
Phone: 210-562-6140 
Email: BarshopInstitute@uthscsa.edu

 
Phone: 210-562-6700